Gary-AvantLink
February 15th, 2006, 01:26 PM
Recently, we've caught several scammers trying to gain access into the Affiliate side of our network using false credentials. Specifically, these scammers are applying to AvantLink using quality sites that do not belong to them.
We discovered this when we received an application from a high-profile Affiliate site that was already in the network.
Now, with all high-quality sites coming through our application queue, we are verifying email and phone number through the submitted application and we're looking up the domain registration records to compare what is on WHOIS and what was submitted.
PLUS..
We are contacting the 'real' site admins through their site! This is because some of these scammers are going to WHOIS and getting the admin contact, than using that info in their application to us, making it appear more legitimate. We are taking every step to insure the legitimacy of our Affiliate applications.
We're not sure of the agenda here, but most likely they are looking for ways to collect commissions on fraudulent orders placed through their own Affiliate account.
-
Site admins, if you receive (or have received) an automated response from an Affiliate network your site may have been a target for one of these scams. What happens is they apply using a domain that is not theirs, and a generic email based on that stolen domain (for example: webmaster @ domain.com). When an action is taken that triggers an auto-email message from the network, the email is going out to the generic email address they submitted based on the domain. In some cases that email belongs to the actual site admin.
Has any Affiliates/site admins seen auto responses coming from networks lately? You may have been wondering why you received that kind of message...well maybe now it makes more sense.
Gary M
We discovered this when we received an application from a high-profile Affiliate site that was already in the network.
Now, with all high-quality sites coming through our application queue, we are verifying email and phone number through the submitted application and we're looking up the domain registration records to compare what is on WHOIS and what was submitted.
PLUS..
We are contacting the 'real' site admins through their site! This is because some of these scammers are going to WHOIS and getting the admin contact, than using that info in their application to us, making it appear more legitimate. We are taking every step to insure the legitimacy of our Affiliate applications.
We're not sure of the agenda here, but most likely they are looking for ways to collect commissions on fraudulent orders placed through their own Affiliate account.
-
Site admins, if you receive (or have received) an automated response from an Affiliate network your site may have been a target for one of these scams. What happens is they apply using a domain that is not theirs, and a generic email based on that stolen domain (for example: webmaster @ domain.com). When an action is taken that triggers an auto-email message from the network, the email is going out to the generic email address they submitted based on the domain. In some cases that email belongs to the actual site admin.
Has any Affiliates/site admins seen auto responses coming from networks lately? You may have been wondering why you received that kind of message...well maybe now it makes more sense.
Gary M
