No fooling, I'm in a state of shock! On all of the product pages I've been looking at just now.
http://www.crazyforbargains.net/children/
Right at the TOP Of the pages, 468x60's smack in the hotspot on top of all the product listings.
simcat
April 24th, 2006, 11:58 PM
I dont use this merchant, but I did notice .com is different from .net.
Is .net just an affiliate(s) site?
AddHandler
April 25th, 2006, 12:00 AM
And to think I was just about to start advertising for them...
Some merchants just don't get it....
webworker
April 25th, 2006, 12:05 AM
The sites are identical, just running on two domain names. But I landed on that page I posted the URL for by clicking on one of the affiliate links on my own site. I'm also clicking around through Cpanel stats and looking at search pages at the engines. I've never seen it before and never knew there were two domains running.
It's very confusing, to say the least.
Trust
April 25th, 2006, 12:17 AM
I'm not seeing it clicking from my affiliate link over to the site. The .com is the affiliate program, the .net is something else.
http://www.crazyforbargains.com
From that page, what do I click to see the Adsense.
Trust
April 25th, 2006, 12:17 AM
Actually looks like a cyber squatter. Check the whois. The .net is
Hendrickson, Jeff info at nuvru.com
18 Kobenhavngata
Oslo, 0566
Norway
The .com is US
webworker
April 25th, 2006, 12:45 AM
Here's the pages Yahoo has listed for the .net - doesn't look like a fuzzy slippers and cute jammies site to me:
LOL.. here is the homepage "my browser" sees for the .net homepage:
http://www.crazyforbargains.net/
OK, it's getting clearer - this is actually where I clicked through to from my Cpanel "latest visitors" - not through an affiliate link on my site (which does have cute jammies ;)
Oh, none of the Yahoo cart pages work of course - nothing does except for one subdirectory on the site that I've found - so far. And it's got nothing whatsoever to do with CFB.
Scroll down.
Trust
April 25th, 2006, 01:01 AM
Yeah, some squatter. Merchant is a good one, I'm sure they'll handle tomorrow.
webworker
April 25th, 2006, 01:41 AM
Merchant is a good oneYes she is, that's why I went into shock when I first saw that. And this merchant is well managed and converts, too.
JudiMoore
April 25th, 2006, 08:26 AM
Take a look at the logo banner. Right above Crazy for Bargains, it says "In Association With".
Trust
April 25th, 2006, 10:27 AM
In Association With
See it's easy. People can put that anywhere.
Carolyn - ShareASale
April 25th, 2006, 12:31 PM
Lovely way to start a day...looking into this and we'll take care of it! Thanks for the heads up at least! :)
Carolyn - ShareASale
April 25th, 2006, 01:29 PM
Excellent, just got off the phone with Melissa and we're both in agreement. First off, thank you all for the heads-up and advance investigation! Saved me a good bit of time.
We were able to locate the affiliate ID, and although he is not in absolute violation of existing Ts and Cs, the site does duplicate the look and feel of CrazyForBargains in such a way that it could be misleading to consumers. I've contacted him directly to request that he change the site.
For future reference, we will be asking that you all please refrain from site duplication (of this site, or any other site for that matter! :)). You are welcome to use CrazyForBargains product images, and even any product copy provided to you in newsletters or on the site…but we’d appreciate it greatly if you did not mirror the CrazyForBargains site. The CrazyForBargains brand, and its associated site look and feel are intended to uniquely distinguish CFB from any other entity. Duplicating the site design dilutes the notion that CFB is a singular site. We all work hard to build our own identity, and we should also strive to protect what we created ourselves.
Trust
April 25th, 2006, 01:31 PM
Not a problem he registered the .net? Who knows what he does with it in the future, could turn it into a porn site. Would reflect badly on the .com Don't know the rules on that, but if you could, I would get the .net
Carolyn - ShareASale
April 25th, 2006, 01:39 PM
The cybersquatting bit is also unpleasing, but it also isn't in CFB's current Ts and Cs. (You can bet it will be in our revision coming shortly).
Trust
April 25th, 2006, 01:42 PM
Don't think it needs to be in the T&C, if you wanted to pursue it, you could get the domain because it is cybersquatting. Not sure if you have the TM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cybersquatting
But it is a good lesson to get at least the .com, .net, .org
Somebody has the .net on my main site.
Carolyn - ShareASale
April 25th, 2006, 01:44 PM
Yep, Melissa has someone on that as well. :) But we'll include it in the Ts and Cs so there isn't any confusion.
JudiMoore
April 25th, 2006, 02:00 PM
If you look around his site, you'll see that he used the Crazy for Bargains logo on pages that sell other stuff - giftware, etc. You might be able to find a violation there. I followed links from footer, etc around the site and found all kinds of crap.
Trust
April 25th, 2006, 02:04 PM
Yep, another good reason to get the domain. He could affiliate thru other merchants or maybe one day try to sell himself on it. Bad customer experience or who knows what else could reflect on the main business.
pajamalady
April 25th, 2006, 02:25 PM
Thank you to everyone for pointing this out to us. I admit it I almost had a heart attack when I saw this post this morning. We would never put AdSense on our site. Carolyn and Brian will be working to resolve this for us.
And... TrustNo1 you are right. This is a lesson learned --- buy all possible variations of your domain to avoid this kind of thing in the first place.
Thanks again.
Melissa C. Murphy
CrazyforBargains.com -- Fun Sleepwear for the Whole Family
Travelin Man
April 26th, 2006, 10:03 PM
I just want to add that I've been a Crazy for Bargains affiliate for a while now (just had my 100th sale today) and can honestly say that Melissa and CFB are one of the finest merchants anyone could hope to work with.
Their response and handling of this unfortunate situation only highlights their professionalism. Way to go.
Cheers,
AddHandler
April 26th, 2006, 11:27 PM
DAMN.... OK so maybe I will take a second look at CrazyforBargains.com if they get rid of the cybersquatting a-hole.......
I would give Jeff Hendrickson a good thrashing for even temporarily giving CFB a bad name....!!!!!!!
Kevin
April 26th, 2006, 11:47 PM
CFB converts, AddHandler. Chef recommends...
Carolyn - ShareASale
May 3rd, 2006, 01:04 PM
Thought we'd update with you on the good news! That affiliate has transferred crazyforbargains.net over to Melissa, amicably and professionally. Many thanks to all of you for watching out for us. We'll make sure to do the same thing for you all.
Copyright (C) 2001 - , ABestWeb - All World Wide Rights Reserved
Trademarks are property of their respective owners
Content may not republished, in any manner, without prior written
permission