So I ordered a replacement inkjet cartridge from these guys. They are on Shareasale, have a coupon, and I have made a few sales with them, so it all seemed good.
Upon checkout I get a Firefox alert window that a site called leadgenetwork.com was trying to access some information and was not a trusted site. That sent up some alert signals.
I called their Cust. Svc and was told that those pop-ups are on my computer not their site. (LOL, sounds like they hear that often.) I told the young lady that it was not a pop-up, then she said if the email was from them it would say it was. I never used the word "email". Frustration led me to end that call.
Still feeling somewhat insecure about what these folks were going to do with my personal information, a few minutes later I called back to cancel this order. A total of 10 minutes has passed since my order was placed and now I am told there is a 15% cancellation fee :rotflol:
I spoke with someone who identified himself as their manager and was told that they had already incurred credit card fees and other costs with this order, that is why the 15% applies even if it has not been shipped. This person also told me that the site in question that Firefox did not like was another affiliate of theirs. One look at their site and I can see why so many customers call in complaining about pop-ups, but that is not my problem.
So Mr. 101Inks, keep your 15% and when my statement comes in I will dispute this charge and then it will cost you even MORE to get that handled. I guess them charging to cancel a fresh order COULD help conversions, but my guess is that if you sent your customer to them to buy and they have any problems, your customer will not appreciate your referral in the end.
15% cancellation fee on an order < 10 minutes old!!! What a load of crapola!
Another merchant for the slime bucket! They'll be off my site by the end of the day.
webworker
June 27th, 2007, 01:36 PM
This person also told me that the site in question that Firefox did not like was another affiliate of theirs. Huh? How does that work? Did he explain how another affiliate could be popping on you and alert FF?
UncleScooter
June 27th, 2007, 01:40 PM
It is because the site in question has a tracking pixel on their confirmation page. For some reason, Firefox didn't like it and issued a warning dialog.
Donuts
June 27th, 2007, 01:43 PM
leadgenetwork.com is a cpa network, so i guess this ain't an exclusive merchant. :-(
in addition, the pixel thing... did / does your firefox alarm over the sas pixel? i'd guess not. i wonder if leadgenetwork.com is using something more than a pixel, collecting data (remember javascript and things like LMI) from the back end... would add new meaning to lead gen...
webworker
June 27th, 2007, 01:47 PM
remember javascript and things like LMI Isn't that something like how Second Bite works, scraping data using JS, except with abandoned carts?
UncleScooter
June 27th, 2007, 02:02 PM
did / does your firefox alarm over the sas pixel?No. I have never had Firefox alert over a pixel from any other network. And yes, the thought did cross my mind about exactly what information Leadgenetwork got.
I almost hope I start getting ink SPAM since I will know the source.
UncleScooter
June 27th, 2007, 02:03 PM
Isn't that something like how Second Bite works, scraping data using JS, except with abandoned carts?Yes. Exactly.
David Carter
June 27th, 2007, 09:28 PM
I don't know who they are using to clear credit card orders, but all of the companies that I'm familiar with will allow you to void a sale with no charges as long as it hasn't settled. Uncle Scooter I think that your right about them trying to prop up conversion numbers but I'm curious as to whether the referring affiliate gets the commission on the 15%? LOL!!
UncleScooter
June 27th, 2007, 10:27 PM
...but I'm curious as to whether the referring affiliate gets the commission on the 15%? LOL!!
I wondered the same thing. And I also know that txns can be deleted before the batch is settled. I have done this thousands of times not that long ago. Just a "wonderful" operation all together.
Greg Rice
June 28th, 2007, 08:14 AM
One would think that if they have had other similar complaints that they just might reconsider their practices. IF only 1 person in 10 complains then there are 9 other people out there not happy about what's going on. If that company continually gets slapped about something they're doing and still refuse to change, they deserve what they get. With so many choices out there, it's hard to understand why companies still act like this :confused:
rematt
June 28th, 2007, 11:35 AM
With so many choices out there, it's hard to understand why companies still act like this :confused:
Blind, stupid or arrogant?
-rematt
paladin
June 28th, 2007, 12:39 PM
I am told there is a 15% cancellation fee ....
15% cancellation fee on an order < 10 minutes old!!! What a load of crapola!
I checked their site real quick and what the they told you on the phone is wrong. They have a 15% restocking fee for returned orders, but do not say anything about cancellations that did not leave their warehouse.
I'd call them back, or email them, and point that out. If they still refuse to refund the 15% you can check your options with your credit card company.
Kellie aka Ms. B
June 28th, 2007, 02:42 PM
LeadGenNetwork, a CPA Network that does have 101inks as an offer, is owned by InnovationInteractive (II for short now).
II is also the parent company for ExactAdvertising. Remember them? They've had several adware applications and names in the past including ExactSearch, CashBackBuddy, BargainBuddy, NaviSearch, and BullseyeNetwork to name a few.
Aside from the ExactAdvertisng Search, they also own BrainFox (frequently shows up in AdOnNetwork adware inventory). For you SEM'ers out there, you might be familiar with some of their other search companies like 360i and SearchIgnite. Yeah, I'd trust all my PPC campaign info to them...but that's just me and my own personal opinion.
They own a bunch of other stuff as well.
I've also seen 101inks via LeadGen aff links popping through Zango.
So Scoot it's up to you on whether or not to be concerned.
Maybe 101inks should be asking themselves why exactly Firefox doesn't like one of their "affiliates" (as well as network) when they are sticking code into their checkout process. Maybe?
UncleScooter
June 28th, 2007, 03:32 PM
I've also seen 101inks via LeadGen aff links popping through Zango.
So Scoot it's up to you on whether or not to be concerned.That confirms my thoughts. As for being concerned, I flushed them moved on. A company who treats their customers like that is bound to try to pull a fast one on their affiliates sooner or later.
They are paying these "partners" of their's for popping Zango on their site. I love it!
Oh, but certainly it is not LeadGen doing it. It has to be a rogue affiliate :rotflol:
Thanks Kellie!
Haiko de Poel, Jr.
June 28th, 2007, 03:51 PM
Good catch, they also have an in house program as you can see on their page. Hopefully SaS will boot them -- for compliance, of course.
Copyright (C) 2001 - , ABestWeb - All World Wide Rights Reserved
Trademarks are property of their respective owners
Content may not republished, in any manner, without prior written
permission